Hallan especie de orquídea que florece solo en la noche

Posted on

22 NOVIEMBRE 2011  /  Prensa Latina
 Bulbophyllum nocturnumBulbophyllum nocturnum

Una especie de orquídea que florece solo en la noche fue descubierta en una isla próxima a Papua Nueva Guinea, publicó hoy la revista Botanical Journal of the Linnean Society.

La orquídea nombrada Bulbophyllum nocturnum fue encontrada durante una expedición en New Britain, territorio de Oceanía que se encuentra al norte de Australia.

Descubierta por el botánico holandés Ed De Vogel en una zona boscosa explotada por compañías madereras, la nueva planta demuestra una vez más la importancia de establecer áreas protegidas.

El lugar donde fue hallada la flor era antes un bosque virgen donde ahora se han abierto caminos, que si bien facilitan descubrimientos de este tipo, ponen en peligro la supervivencia de las especies.

El florecimiento nocturno de la orquídea fue detectado de forma casual por De Vogel quien primero llevó las flores a su laboratorio, donde nunca las veía abrirse.

Cuando dejaba los pimpollos a punto de florecer los encontraba marchitos al día siguiente.

Luego llevó las flores a su casa y observó que se abrían con la puesta de sol y volvían a cerrarse en la mañana.

El florecimiento dura solo una noche.

Perteneciente al género Bulbophyllum, el cual incluye alrededor de dos mil especies, es posible que la planta sea polinizada en la noche por insectos “que creen estar visitando un hongo”, consideró André Schuiteman, experto en orquídeas del Jardín Botánico de Londres, Kew Gardens, y coautor del estudio.

“Las plantas se mimetizan con los hongos, ésa es la razón que explica los detalles y dibujos que pueden observarse en las flores”, añadió el colaborador de De Vogel.

También es posible que la orquídea tenga un aroma imperceptible a los seres humanos, pero que atrae a los insectos.

(Con información de Prensa Latina)

 

 

11 comentarios sobre “Hallan especie de orquídea que florece solo en la noche

    OMG escribió:
    noviembre 23, 2011 en 3:27 pm

    Que curioso!

    Incalzire in pardoseala escribió:
    octubre 31, 2012 en 5:34 pm

    I’m not sure where you are getting your information, but good topic. I needs to spend some time learning much more or understanding more. Thanks for great information I was looking for this info for my mission.

    Incalzire pardoseala escribió:
    noviembre 3, 2012 en 12:04 am

    Hi, I think your site might be having browser compatibility issues. When I look at your blog site in Chrome, it looks fine but when opening in Internet Explorer, it has some overlapping. I just wanted to give you a quick heads up! Other then that, excellent blog!

    website cms escribió:
    noviembre 21, 2012 en 3:17 am

    Thanks for the sensible critique. Me & my neighbor were just preparing to do some research on this. We got a grab a book from our local library but I think I learned more from this post. I’m very glad to see such great information being shared freely out there.

    amax auto insurance dallas tx escribió:
    noviembre 23, 2012 en 8:43 pm

    It’s an amazing paragraph for all the web users; they will obtain advantage from it I am sure.

    Priscilla Mcgrogan escribió:
    noviembre 29, 2012 en 3:54 am

    Thanks Sheetal! Shopping forward to seeing you quickly in PDX…

    http://youtube.com/watch?v=xbL01vfSggg escribió:
    enero 7, 2013 en 6:51 am

    I was just searching for this info for some time. After 6 hours of continuous Googleing, at last I got it in your website. I wonder what’s the Google’s problem that does not rank this kind of informative websites closer to the top. Generally the top websites are full of garbage.

    Carroll B. Merriman escribió:
    junio 15, 2013 en 6:52 am

    I’ve been exploring for a bit for any high-quality articles or blog posts in this sort of house . Exploring in Yahoo I eventually stumbled upon this website. Reading this information So i’m happy to show that I have an incredibly good uncanny feeling I found out exactly what I needed. I such a lot definitely will make sure to don’t overlook this web site and provides it a look on a constant basis.

    Luigi Fulk escribió:
    junio 15, 2013 en 7:10 pm

    Magnificent goods from you, man. I have understand your stuff previous to and you’re just extremely magnificent. I really like what you have acquired here, certainly like what you are stating and the way in which you say it. You make it entertaining and you still care for to keep it wise. I can not wait to read far more from you. This is really a wonderful site.

    Luigi Fulk escribió:
    junio 15, 2013 en 8:03 pm

    You are a very clever individual!

    Issac Maez escribió:
    junio 29, 2013 en 1:28 am

    Hi there, I found your site via Google at the same time as looking for a similar topic, your website got here up, it appears to be like good. I have bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.

Deja un comentario